Helen

helen's painting for january blog granddaughter (2)

Title: Holly Bennett

My Inspiration: This is one of a series of portraits done of family members in 2016.  I took a photo of my granddaughter Holly on her birthday- wearing her party dress. I liked the way the light was coming in strongly from behind her on the left, and the sense of movement in the informal pose.

Chosen Medium: Acrylic

Painting Experience: I really enjoyed painting Holly and kept in mind that I didn’t want a tight, formal painting – so kept brushstrokes free and loose, avoiding any attempt to do any more than evoke an impression of flowers on her dress.

My Achievement: I have managed to capture a good likeness of her, and was particularly pleased with how the yellow satin sash looked in the final painting as well as the highlights in her hair.

