Artist of the Month: Holly Keenan

IMG_0414

Holly Keenan, age 15

  • When did you first come to a class at the Little Art School?

 I first joined the The Little Art School two years ago when I was 13. I began after my little brother Kristian came to lessons and enjoyed them.

  • Had you drawn and painted before coming to us, or was it something completely new to try out?

I loved to paint and draw at home but I had never been to a structured art class before so it was a new experience for me.

  • Has the way that you draw and paint changed or improved after coming to The Little Art School?

Yes I have learned so many different art techniques since coming here! My art has got better since I started the art classes –  the teachers provide lots of help and tips with our painting.

  • Has the Little Art School encouraged you to be creative and produce paintings outside of lessons?

I haven’t painted much outside of lessons as I prefer to paint at the art school each week. I don’t paint as much at home now but still occasionally enjoy getting my art books out. I also enjoy art at school.

  • What is your favourite way to paint? 

Watercolour is my favourite, because it’s not a heavy paint and you can still see the picture clearly underneath. I enjoy using the pale, pastel colours in this way.

  • Has The Little Art School increased your confidence? 

The art classes make me very relaxed and happy and I have made lots of friends. I feel far more confident in my drawing and everyone is so encouraging – it’s such a friendly environment.

  • Tell me a bit about a favourite painting you have done recently.

In my Level 3 course, we have been doing the acrylic fruit paintings and I’ve really enjoyed it. The colours were lovely. My favourite has to have been the pear because I love the texture, shape and the contrast of the colours. I think it looks very modern.  

  • What do you enjoy most about The Little Art School?

I love The Little Art School because it makes me feel relaxed, the classes are fun and all of the staff are so kind.

 

IMG_0411

Culzean Castle

IMG_0412

Highland Cottage

IMG_0413

The Brig O’ Doon

IMG_0415

Fruit studies in Acrylic

Leave a Reply

